Pocatello Duck Hunting

A place to share Idaho bird hunting knowledge and discuss Idaho hunting tactics.

Moderators: donell67, jjohnson_714, casey_714

Pocatello Duck Hunting

Postby WingedHunter16 » Tue Nov 20, 2012 12:44 am

Im currently a student at ISU, and looking forward to learning how to duck hunt in Idaho. Im from Nevada, where I have done some duck hunting but really want to get into it more. Just wondering if their is any way to meet up with some people to show me the ropes and or give me some good areas to go. I don't have a boat, so I will be wading in. Please let me know it will be greatly appreciated.
WingedHunter16
hunter

Re: Pocatello Duck Hunting

Postby IdahoSkies » Thu Nov 29, 2012 1:42 pm

I haven't been over in that end of the state for some time but you have mostly snake river hunting out your way. There are a few wide flat areas that you can wade in without worrying that you will go in. Check out the Neeley area west of you that was always decent, and there were some long flat spots that you can lay out dekes without having to have a boat. Good luck, and take someone with you from your dorm if you can't find someone else, just so there are two of you when you are working the river. (even if they don't shoot).
IdahoSkies
hunter

Postby graphixx » Thu Nov 29, 2012 10:28 pm

when I used to live there we used to hunt american falls and did pretty good and also inbetween inkom and mccammon along the portneuf there are some good spots.....just get out there and see what ya see..........GOOD LUCK
Bad decisions usually make the BEST stories!
graphixx
hunter

Postby Tenner » Fri Nov 30, 2012 1:20 pm