Mature Canvasback?

A place to share Idaho bird hunting knowledge and discuss Idaho hunting tactics.

Moderators: donell67, casey_714, jjohnson_714

Mature Canvasback?

Postby Idahoryden » Tue Dec 10, 2013 1:46 pm

In all my years of duck hunting, this is my first Drake Canvasback and one of the last duck species on my list to scratch off. Would like to get it mounted and do realize that a trophy is as valuable as the person who shot it says it is, but I really don't want to put up a duck that isn't a mature bird on the wall. I have very little knowledge of what the difference is between a mature canvasback in full plume and an eclipsed one, but from all the pictures I've seen, it would appear this may be an immature bird. Thoughts to any of you guys that have experience with Cans? The pick isn't the greatest so I can post some better ones later.
Attachments
IMG_20131207_175121.jpg
Idahoryden
hunter

Re: Mature Canvasback?

Postby broadwater » Tue Dec 10, 2013 1:58 pm

Not fully feathered bird by any means, and likely a bird of the year. But as you stated, the meaning of a trophy depends on each individual. But any can is a trophy in Idaho. Certainly a hard bird to find.
broadwater
hunter

Postby waveslider » Tue Dec 10, 2013 2:02 pm

IdahoR,

The dept of the interior did an exhaustive report in 1992 called "Species, Age and Sex Identification of Ducks Using Wing Plumage".

I have a copy of it and its nearly impossible to find. I don't really care whether or not I'm breaking any copyright laws by posting these pics since it was our tax money that paid for the study in the first place.

The bottom picture is the description of how to age a Canvasback. You have to know your duck parts and wing elements but its pretty easy to look up anything you don't know on google.