Duck hunting pool 13

Learn and share Illinois river duck hunting with other duck hunters. Have fun and tell your best hunting jokes about Illinois.

Moderators: lostpup, MM, huntall6, Illinois-Ducker

Duck hunting pool 13

Postby Sfd714 » Sat Oct 13, 2012 11:48 pm

Im new to hunting ducks and iv ben wanting to do it for years. I have a gun a dog and a boat. So im not really sure what all i need. Any help would be really appreciated.

Sent from behind the hood of a long nose pete.
Sfd714
hunter

Re: Re: Duck hunting pool 13

Postby Blackcloud870 » Sun Oct 14, 2012 7:58 am

Sfd714 wrote:Im new to hunting ducks and iv ben wanting to do it for years. I have a gun a dog and a boat. So im not really sure what all i need. Any help would be really appreciated.

Sfd714,
Not trying to sound like a d#$*, but Opening day is in exactly 6 days, and you are just now trying to figure out what you need to duck hunt :huh: My friend, you are waaaaaay behind schedule if you want to hunt that body of water. I say that with the utmost concern for your safety, and respect for the Hunters around you, as that area is not only super crowded on most days, but it is nothing short of treacherous when the winds pick up.
My suggestion to you, do some homework, buy a couple dozen decoys, practice calling both ducks and geese, and talk to some other duck Hunters in the area you can find them at any of the landings.
If you are going to ignore my suggestions, I would suggest that you first try down at Potters Marsh after opening day where permanent blinds are still legal. Anywhere else, you are required to have a boat blind, or you will quickly end up ticking a lot of people off, and lets face it, I don't want you to end up being "that guy".
Best of luck to you sir. :thumbsup:
threedogs wrote: wrote:One word, Inflatable decoys......

DanJeffandJack wrote:I just drink beer and crush box.

That's how I remain the physical specimen that I am.
Blackcloud870
hunter

Re: Duck hunting pool 13