Grass Lake hunting

Learn and share Illinois river duck hunting with other duck hunters. Have fun and tell your best hunting jokes about Illinois.

Moderators: lostpup, MM, SPatrick, Illinois-Ducker, huntall6

Grass Lake hunting

Postby dknapp821 » Thu Oct 18, 2012 11:40 am

Hey everyone! My name is Don, I'm 26, and this is my first year hunting. I don't have anyone in my family or anyone I know that hunts so I've been sorta figuring this all out on my own. I've been planning this out for a long time now and I'm excited my first hunting season is here. I've been squirrel hunting already this year and I'm beyond hooked. My biggest interest is waterfowl hunting. I have a 14 foot Jon boat and some decoys. I've been looking around for places to hunt and the chain looks like it could be a good option since I'm only about 45 mins from there. I've been reading these forums for a while and it seems I should be able to get a blind during the week. Only problem is I don't have a dog to take out yet. My question is would it be possible to hunt the chain without a dog? Or is it shallow enough to walk out and retreive the birds myself? Also any other advice for a beginner hunter would be GREATLY appreciated. It's tough learning this without someone to mentor me but I'm just trying to gain as much knowledge as I can at this point.

Thank you!
dknapp821
Newb

Re: Grass Lake hunting

Postby bigthreeforlife » Thu Oct 18, 2012 12:59 pm

No you don't need a dog, some of the blinds are shallow enough to walk around but most are not. You can just use your boat to retrieve your birds, especially if its just you because that'd only be 6 ducks and 2 geese for a limit.
bigthreeforlife
hunter

Postby bigthreeforlife » Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:06 pm

Is grass lake legal shooting time to SUNSET or 1PM? Most state sites are 1PM, but it looks like the hunters fact sheet shows until sunset in Section F, point 1.

http://dnr.state.il.us/Lands/landmgt/hu ... sslake.htm
bigthreeforlife
hunter