Best chances of drawing in

Learn and share Illinois river duck hunting with other duck hunters. Have fun and tell your best hunting jokes about Illinois.

Moderators: lostpup, MM, huntall6, Illinois-Ducker

Best chances of drawing in

Postby Keny656 » Tue Oct 23, 2012 6:44 pm

I wasn't able to get a blind this year, does anyone know where may be the best place to try and draw in the central il area. I noticed banner and rice had permit holders on the list, so i was thinking emiquon but i have never tried there before. Is it very hard to draw in there. I know my chances will be slim with it being opening weekend, but i have waited far to long for season.

Thanks,
Keny
Rain Kead my Friends, Rain Kead.
Keny656
hunter

Re: Best chances of drawing in

Postby zbitner82 » Tue Oct 23, 2012 6:55 pm

Sites that have permits like Banner Marsh and Rice Lake don't fill all the spots with permits. They leave some room to make sure some people get to standby draw. If permit holders don't show up, then means that there are even more spots to draw in. It is never garanteed to get in, but there is always a chance! They have to pull someones name out of that hat, right?

As for emiquon.....I went on a scouting run in my boat this week. The water is VERY low. At some of the stakes the cattails to hide in are 30 yards from the waters edge. Once you do get to water, it is muddy and only inches deep. Good luck with that.....
Semper Fi, Marines
zbitner82
hunter

Postby qckhd » Tue Oct 23, 2012 7:08 pm