Water Usage Stamps and Legal Distance to Structures

Learn and share Illinois river duck hunting with other duck hunters. Have fun and tell your best hunting jokes about Illinois.

Moderators: lostpup, MM, huntall6, Illinois-Ducker

Water Usage Stamps and Legal Distance to Structures

Postby brownduck » Thu Sep 19, 2013 5:22 pm

I'm new to Illinois and some of the regulations are fairly confusing. Perhaps someone on the forum can clarify things for me.

I bought a Water Usage Stamp for my canoe, but I am not certain how to attach it. I asked a few people at DNR, and they didn't know either. So far as I know, the stamp must be physically attached to the boat; however, it is not a sticker. How have other people attached theirs? I ended up zip-tying it to a thwart until I find out how other people have done it.

Another question is about the legal distance to hunt near structures.

Here's a quote from the regs: "It is unlawful to hunt or allow a dog to hunt within 300 yards of an inhabited dwelling without first obtaining permission of the owner or tenant of the dwelling. Except: A 100-yard restriction shall apply while trapping, hunting with bow and arrow, or hunting with shotgun using shotshells only, or on licensed game breeding and hunting preserve areas, on federally owned and managed lands, on DNR owned,-managed, -leased or -controlled lands and areas operated under a Waterfowl Hunting Area permit."