Looking to get into the sport / could use guidance

Learn and share Illinois river duck hunting with other duck hunters. Have fun and tell your best hunting jokes about Illinois.

Moderators: lostpup, MM, Illinois-Ducker, huntall6

Looking to get into the sport / could use guidance

Postby jaegerderhund » Fri Oct 11, 2013 11:12 pm

I'm new to duck hunting. Moved here from Missouri a few years ago, used to hunting small game like rabbit and squirrel.

I want to focus on duck, for a number of reasons, first, because duck tastes better than rabbit and squirrel, and second, I have a duck hunting dog now. How do I get into it? Private club? Hire a guide? Go on public lands and hope for the best although I've never been? I appreciate any advice the experienced hunters here may have. Thanks.
jaegerderhund
Newb

Re: Looking to get into the sport / could use guidance

Postby luie b » Sat Oct 12, 2013 12:21 am

If your dog's a duck hunting dog maybe it could teach you?
**2014-2015 Illinois Waterfowl Season**
Blue-winged teal - 14
luie b
hunter

Postby Feelin' Fowl » Sat Oct 12, 2013 12:49 am

Step 1: Ignore Luie

If you don't have any gear, and haven't been, I would recommend finding a friend with all of the gear you need that could use a hand, and wouldn't mind bringing you along. Duck hunting isn't cheap. You can do it with minimal gear, but there will be an initial investment. If you don't know anyone that duck hunts, you should consider finding a guide. It will be expensive (probably around $150 for 1/2 day), but will give you an idea if it's something you want to really get started with.

There are a lot of good guys on the forum, but it would help if you told us more about yourself...where are you located? What do you have to offer someone in exchange for a partnership/guidance? Things along those lines should help someone decide if they want to help you out some more.

We're a week out in the Northern Zone, so don't hold back...there's no time to waste!