Free lance river hunting in illinois

Learn and share Illinois river duck hunting with other duck hunters. Have fun and tell your best hunting jokes about Illinois.

Moderators: lostpup, MM, huntall6, Illinois-Ducker

Free lance river hunting in illinois

Postby WillFultz » Sat Mar 08, 2014 8:50 am

http://m.nationallawjournal.com/module/ ... 1388979350 Came across this article and thought I'd share. It seems as though the recent Federal Supreme Court ruling doesn't allow anyone other then the state to claim ownership of land underneath navigable waterways. I'm no lawyer but I think this means we are good to go on free lance hunting navigable waterways so long as we abide by other hunting regs...outside city limits, 100 yds away from houses or roads, etc.
WillFultz
hunter

Re: Free lance river hunting in illinois

Postby luie b » Sat Mar 08, 2014 10:46 am

That's what I've always thought. I know landowners that owned ground that was dry along the river but is now underwater after the dam was built that say they have ownership of parts of the river. I don't see how that's possible.

Sent from my XT901 using Tapatalk
luie b
hunter

Postby KillerKowalski » Sat Mar 08, 2014 12:29 pm

The link isn't working for me.