Duck calls for a beginner

Learn and share Illinois river duck hunting with other duck hunters. Have fun and tell your best hunting jokes about Illinois.

Moderators: lostpup, MM, SPatrick, Illinois-Ducker, huntall6

Duck calls for a beginner

Postby Take'em Now » Wed Sep 21, 2005 8:40 am

I am pretty new at this, I am looking for a couple of decent duck calls. I am looking for a simply call. and not looking to spend a lot money on one (not over $75.00). Maybe a caller with a DVD to help explain how to call. Is their such a thing as a duck call for beginners?
Take'em Now
hunter

Postby likesbigspreads » Wed Sep 21, 2005 11:15 am

Haydel's DR-85 is the only call you will ever need. :thumbsup: Those guys that spend $100.00 for one are nuts! :toofunny: I think Haydels has a tape or CD, but just having somebody that knows whats up is 10 times better help than a cd will ever be.
likesbigspreads
hunter

Postby Illinois-Ducker » Wed Sep 21, 2005 6:51 pm

im not nuts and i spent that much on a duck call. I seem to be able to work with it a lot better, but like all others i started out with a primos phat lady or a Yo Sista. I think primos calls are one of the best calls to use for beginning duck hunters.
Illinois-Ducker
State Moderator

Postby duckhntr82 » Thu Sep 22, 2005 7:02 pm

Well i don't care what people say about calls that cost over 100 dollars but there is a big dif between a 20 dollar call and a 100 dollar call..

your just not going to notice it if you are just a ok caller... but once you get better it all makes sence.
Scott Juda
duckhntr82
hunter

Beginner duck call

Postby GreenHead42 » Fri Sep 23, 2005 7:47 am

You can go to your local walmart and get "the system" by Buck Gardner. It has a duck call, a 6 in 1 wistle, and a CD on how to use them. You can pick it up for under $15 and it sounds pretty good.
GreenHead42
hunter

Postby mccree79 » Mon Sep 26, 2005 3:52 pm

I would get a RNT quackhead call..