New to Duck hunting

For those who enjoy duck hunting in the fields, this is the place.

Moderator: Skyblaster7

New to Duck hunting

Postby jcwoluwe5 » Sun Jan 15, 2006 11:15 am

Greetings!

I am very new to duck hunting; so new that I've not heard of field hunting. The name attracts me because I don't have a dog so shooting over water is not the best option for me. I'm looking for more information on field hunting and general advice for a brand new beginner. Thanks!
jcwoluwe5
Newb

Field hunting

Postby Dep666 » Sun Jan 15, 2006 12:06 pm

Well JC, I'm no expert by any means , but I can sure give you an Idea of what works for me. First off are the decoys........

I have some Falmbeau enticers and they are really nice. They kind of hit you in the wallet, but they are definetly worth it. Outlaw makes some very nice silloutes for ducks and Geese. The cheepest duck decoys I have used in the field are Crappy old Falmbeau water keels. I just chop off the bottom and make them into shells. You can buy a bunch of these Dekes at wallmart or just about anystore for cheap. Especially now with most waterfowl seasons closing. Another Deke I'm going to buy is the Greenheadgear full body mallards. Man they are nice looking. As far as goose dekes....I'm not real fussy. I usually use Carrylite supermag shells and a few Full body dekes when I can. My buddies hunt exclusively over 8 doz bigfoots and they tend to do alot better. All I can say is I kill my share of Birds.

I would definelty invest in a mojo or two. They work great in the fields. Just get the ones with a remote on it. Geese tend to flare from the spinner( AT least where I hunt they do) so its important to be able to turn it off.

You can go out and spend a ton of $ on a coffin blind. They are the nuts , its just I don't have the budget to spend 200 on a blind. I use a goose chair and it has served its purpose.