Getting permission from landowners...

For those who enjoy duck hunting in the fields, this is the place.

Moderator: Skyblaster7

Postby nwwaterpolo11 » Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:36 am

I'm new to the duck hunting community, and with my location and lack of resources, I will be field hunting. How would you go about getting permission to hunt on private land? (when, what to do/say) I will be asking in the Rockford, il area if that helps. Thanks
Underradar wrote: I hope so. In heaven, dogs get to eat Koreans.
nwwaterpolo11
hunter

Re: Getting permission from landowners...

Postby FowlOffspring » Thu Feb 23, 2012 4:48 pm

I live in oregon and hunt almost always over water but my mother lives in Belvidere and have often thought of hunting out there and knowing the people out there, all you should have to do is walk up,dressed nicely, and be as polite as possible and you should be able to get permission.
FowlOffspring
hunter

Postby don novicki » Fri Feb 24, 2012 7:21 am

I usually don't have too much problem but part of that I feel is due to my age (58), grey hair, and a slight limp. Never thought old age would be a plus but most times the farmer is in his 70's so we can commiserate about our infimaries. Truthfully though there is no magic bullet you just have to go up and ask. I would suggest going WELL before the season starts and tell them you are just intersted in duck/goose only ie. you don't want to shoot their deer just fowl. Additionally I have a letter that tells all about me where to reach me, description of truck etc etc.. I also take each landowner a small ham as a thank you to let them know I appreciate it. Lastly if you intend on driving out into the fields you need to ask them at this time if it's ok because I can tell you the first time you rut up thier field is the last time you will be hunting there. Just use common courtesy and common sense and you should do ok. ........... :beer:
don novicki
hunter

Postby Coleman24 » Thu Mar 29, 2012 11:19 am