How to set up?

For those who enjoy duck hunting in the fields, this is the place.

Moderator: Skyblaster7

How to set up?

Postby teal12 » Thu Jun 13, 2013 11:48 am

I am fairly new to waterfowl hunting but I recently got Adela for 16 full body goose 12 goose shells 8 floater geese 30 floater mallards 2 1/2 dozen full body mallards mojo teal and 2 baby mojo mallards as wells as several teal and wood duck decoys. I'd like to try field hunting this season but I'm not sure how to use these decoys in a set up. Ill be hunting picked corn and beans as well as maybe some wheat. Any advice on how to put these decoys out using all or part of them would be great. Do diver ducks ever venture to fields to feed as I have about 18 blue bills and buffer heads also. Thanks.
teal12
hunter

Re: How to set up?

Postby Omaha Clucker » Fri Jun 14, 2013 8:37 am

i wouldn't bother with the diver dekes in a field. If you can get them all out to your field, I'd bring all the goose decoys, at least a dozen duck full bodies, and one of the mojos. Just kick out a divot for the keels on your floaters, or use something from the field underneath to keep them level. I'd put the geese in groups of 4-6, wouldn't worry about a J or U shape though. With 30 dekes birds working you will have plenty of room to land. Ducks will fly over geese to land but usually geese won't land over ducks, so put the ducks and mojo upwind of the geese or off to one side. I don't know if its absolutely required, or even if its true, but I've read ducks tend to feed more inline with the rows so you should set them up in lines where geese you can just kind of plop down. That's just what I would do to start, but if you can find birds in a field around you they'll tell you more than me. Make your spread look as much like what you're seeing locally as you can is always the best advice
Omaha Clucker
hunter

Postby mayhem96 » Mon Jun 17, 2013 3:00 pm