What kind of fields hold geese and duck?

For those who enjoy duck hunting in the fields, this is the place.

Moderator: Skyblaster7

What kind of fields hold geese and duck?

Postby Homerlicious » Wed Nov 22, 2006 10:17 am

I am fairly new to field hunting for ducks and geese. I went scouting with one of my friends who has some old family property that they lease the farming rights. We had never been down there and were hoping for corn fields. Instead we were greeted with cotton and soy. There is also a 10 acre pond next to these fields. The fields were not holding any geese or ducks and niether was the pond. I was wondering if I should get my hopes up about waterfowl eventually making thier way in to these fields or if my buddy and I should classify this spot as fishing only.

Also what other types of fields to ducks and geese hold in? I appreciate the help. :thumbsup:
Homerlicious
hunter

Postby sdgr8wthnter » Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:07 am

Just keep checking it, ducks and geese will use any field. I've seen them use pastures before. So the key is to keep scouting it out. But ducks and geese love soybeans before it gets really cold.
sdgr8wthnter
State Moderator

Postby ohsobad_hunter » Wed Nov 22, 2006 9:07 pm

sdgr8wthnter wrote:.........So the key is to keep scouting it out. But ducks and geese love soybeans before it gets really cold.

exactly.....In field hunting, scouting is the name of the game. Go out the evening before and see where the birds are feeding. That will tell you where to set up for the hunt.
Ducks and geese will tear a bean field up pretty quick.....just give em time to find it. How big is the bean field?

:salude:
>>---Mat---->
ohsobad_hunter
hunter

Postby Homerlicious » Thu Nov 23, 2006 8:38 am