Really need help on this ?

For those who enjoy duck hunting in the fields, this is the place.

Moderator: Skyblaster7

Really need help on this ?

Postby JDiPerrio » Mon Dec 15, 2008 7:45 pm

Hey guys sorry for this being my first post.....First off i would like to introduce myself my name is John and I am just getting into duck hunting.

I hunt the bolton flats in lancaster MA and the place i hunt is a corn field with a river running along side it. My question is i go there and everytime i go there there is ducks in the river next to the field but i dont know if they will come into this field or fly to another field around. I know there is ducks in the area but i just dont know how to find them and if im in the right spot or just wasting my time hunting this field/ river. Also i wouldnt mind setting up on the river bend there but the ducks seem to sleep there because whenever i get there in the am the fly away without a chance to shoot, should i just set up in the field and hope they move from the rivr into the field or should i just hunt the river and hope not to spook them.

By the way i hunt with my 10 year old cousin but he cant carry a gun so its only me.

Thanks so much for any and all information provided .

John
JDiPerrio
hunter

Postby Dylandawg » Wed Dec 17, 2008 11:09 am

I'm from RI and hunt corn fields also. The only time it is worth it for me to put out a duck spread is when it is raining out.

I lease a couple of fields with farm ponds on them and almost never see ducks there when it isn't raining. When it's raining like today we had a full limit of mallards and blacks by 730am We had close to 100-150 birds fly in by then and they were still flying in as we were picking up.
Dylandawg
hunter

Postby JDiPerrio » Wed Dec 17, 2008 6:13 pm

Nice thanks for the info, I go to school down here in RI at Johnson and Wales
JDiPerrio
hunter

Postby Dylandawg » Wed Dec 17, 2008 6:22 pm