bad bird numbers

Information about Iowa duck hunting. Learn, share and discuss valuable tips and tricks with others.

bad bird numbers

Postby duckdog » Sun Jul 02, 2006 12:28 pm

I have noticed that in my area the duck and goose hatch numbers seem to be way down. I have heard the dakotas look good, but for Iowa it does,nt look good. Need more habitat for nesting.
Any day in the outdoor's is better than at work
Posts: 672
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 10:42 am
Location: Ruthven Iowa

Postby Blocko » Fri Jul 21, 2006 2:48 pm

According to DU and what I have read, looks like duck numbers are up this year........
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2005 12:55 pm
Location: Eastern Iowa

Postby duckdog » Sun Jul 23, 2006 9:56 pm

I have read the same results in magazines also, and I think that the Dakotas had an excellent hatch, but in NW Iowa the numbers seem to be way down from other years. I hope I am wrong on the numbers being down.
Any day in the outdoor's is better than at work
Posts: 672
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 10:42 am
Location: Ruthven Iowa

Postby MODMAN22 » Wed Aug 02, 2006 6:31 am

In my area the duck #s are about the same but the geese are all over.
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2006 6:26 am
Location: LYTTON, IA

Postby iowaducker » Thu Aug 03, 2006 11:36 pm

I heard that modman22 was looking at the coot, thinking they were geese :toofunny: Ducks and geese are looking good around here
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 4:02 pm

Postby browninga5m » Tue Aug 15, 2006 8:24 pm

Not alot of Ducks around here but geese are everywhere. A good hatch on those I would say..
Browning, The Best There Is!!!
User avatar
Posts: 160
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 4:35 pm
Location: Hampton,Iowa

Postby whitefeather » Fri Aug 18, 2006 9:41 pm

seeing lots of blue wings right now on the mississippi and the usual woodducks. I have seen a couple of mallards but mainly geese.
Posts: 174
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 8:04 pm
Location: SE Iowa

Postby horse » Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:04 pm

This is just what I been seeing out windsheil of truck,but up and down I35 if there is water you will find good duck#s and geese are thick,alot of teal and smaller ducks,and been seeing birds where I have seen water and that includes rivers and streams,pulled few loads up to Worthington Mn. and was seeing the same up that way and I did run different routes back and forth just looking for birds.
smile all and have a great day all
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 8:45 pm
Location: iowa


Postby IaDuckHunter » Wed Sep 13, 2006 10:18 pm

Down in the southern part of the state there are alot of ducks and geese even have alot of big ducks already
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 11:15 pm
Location: Iowa

Return to Iowa Duck Hunting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests