Every day is worth it!

A waterfowl discussion forum focusing on Kansas duck hunting.

Moderators: T Man, Mallyard, cluckmeister, yellowlab, dukhntr

Every day is worth it!

Postby EcatMagoo » Sun Dec 01, 2013 7:25 pm

Being a teacher I always get some extended time off around Thanksgiving and use that time to do a little extra duck hunting. I normally hunt two days during Thanksgiving break. This year I decided to stack the days together and hunt Friday and Saturday.

On Friday my partner and I arrived at our location about shooting time. With the ice we weren't sure where to hunt and wanted to scout around a bit before committing. We had taken pretty much all our equipment to be ready for whatever were found. Layout blinds, layout boats, and the 18 foot boat with surface drive. Within 30 minutes of scouting one of the wheels on our boat trailer popped off and put a halt to our hunting. My partner admitted he had not repacked the bearings in the last year and that had to be the cause. We were able to find a local repair guy to drive out and help deal with the problem. Luckily we had two vehicles so my partner/father wanted me to keep scouting while he dealt with the problem.

From about 7:00 to 1:00 I drove around the complex and scouted every possible location. What I found was grim. Too much ice and not enough ducks. At 1:00 I decided i was going to have to try something so I picked the best possible spot and decided to take my layout boat and go in. There were several groups hunting the front side of the pool so I busted the now thin ice and headed past them. My layout boat is small and without a motor. So when I say I busted ice I mean i pushed the boat through the marsh and busted the ice step by step.