Need your help

A waterfowl discussion forum focusing on Kansas duck hunting.

Moderators: T Man, Mallyard, dukhntr, yellowlab

Need your help

Postby quackattacknoob » Sun Dec 08, 2013 12:40 pm

I'm new to the waterfowl hunting and try and hunt more geese then sucks. Is it me or have they not migrated in the numbers like they did last year? I don't have many ponds to hunt plus they are now frozen. It seems like I get in a files they have been using and can't even get a look from them.
quackattacknoob
hunter

Re: Need your help

Postby mudpack » Mon Dec 09, 2013 8:08 am

First, I'm seeing tens of thousands of geese every day around my house. Many of these are roosting on city lakes, but they are here.

Second, your post was difficult to read because of spelling errors. Suggest you use spellcheck in the future.
Good luck......it usually takes years of hunting to become proficient. Hang in there.
mudpack
hunter

Postby deadeyehawkins » Sat Feb 08, 2014 1:00 pm

We had been killing them on a regular daily basis all the way into Feb, think our last hunt was the 3rd and two of us killed 10 birds. You have got to put your time in and scout and watch which fields they are using we were hunting corn fields as well as a local pond that took a chainsaw and would open the ice and make a big hole put out floaters and full bodies on the ice worked great shot many limits doing that.
deadeyehawkins
hunter

Postby John O`Neal » Sun Feb 16, 2014 1:17 pm

quackattacknoob wrote:I'm new to the waterfowl hunting and try and hunt more geese then sucks. Is it me or have they not migrated in the numbers like they did last year? I don't have many ponds to hunt plus they are now frozen. It seems like I get in a files they have been using and can't even get a look from them.