Barkley Lake

Post now and share useful Kentucky duck hunting information. A few topics of discussion would be public hunting land in Kentucky, local techniques, and much more.

Moderators: duckbuster06, kydrake

Barkley Lake

Postby DoubleCutt » Thu Jan 20, 2011 9:07 am

Hey guy, a newbie here. I don't usually post in forums, more of a casual reader, but there seems to be a few lake hunters on here and I have a question for those of you that are in the know. I have just recently started hunting the lake some due to the poor numbers/stale birds in Henderson County, and I was not sure about one thing...occupying someones blind 30 min before shooting hours. Is that a common practice down there and if so, how do the blind owners view it? We have been hunting from the bank and/or the boat. My buddy has wanted to go get in a blind a few times, but I just felt wierd about it. Not because we were going to take/tear anything up, but it just sort of seemed like crossing a line to me. I know that the group of guys that hunt the lake on the regular are a pretty tight knit group and I was wondering how this practice was viewed, and how the locals handled it if you did occupy a blind and then someone pulled up 5 min before shooting time claiming to be the owner or something like that. Just not wanting to get in a pissing match with someone on the water first thing before a hunt if this is not a regularly practiced custom.
DoubleCutt
hunter

Re: Barkley Lake

Postby FOWLER2671 » Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:00 am

I would guess most of those blinds are empty thru the week. probably 40% are available on weekends with as slow as it's been.

I personally think you will do better on the shore.
Army Surplus Prostaffer
FOWLER2671
hunter

Postby gnan222 » Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:27 am