Kentucky River Hunting

Post now and share useful Kentucky duck hunting information. A few topics of discussion would be public hunting land in Kentucky, local techniques, and much more.

Moderators: duckbuster06, kydrake

Kentucky River Hunting

Postby jacob430 » Tue Sep 17, 2013 3:44 am

I am new to this state and have heard that I am allowed to hunt from my boat anywhere along the river. I am not used to these guidelines at all when it comes to waterfowl hunting. If anyone can give me some pointers or the actual regulations on that it would be great. Thankyou!
jacob430
hunter

Re: Kentucky River Hunting

Postby teamoutlaw » Thu Nov 14, 2013 10:15 am

regs are online or call the local warden. best to hear it from him then a guy on a forum
teamoutlaw
hunter

Postby GoBlue82 » Tue Nov 19, 2013 10:11 pm

so it is like this, navigable water is public, but all land is private property, this includes the river banks and bottoms. so you can't touch the river bed or bank without permission of the land owner, this includes decoy weights and retrieving animals. so basically, you can float the rivers, but if you want to actually post up, you need land owner permission.
GoBlue82
hunter

Postby KyFowl20 » Wed Nov 20, 2013 10:33 pm

GoBlue82 wrote:so it is like this, navigable water is public, but all land is private property, this includes the river banks and bottoms. so you can't touch the river bed or bank without permission of the land owner, this includes decoy weights and retrieving animals. so basically, you can float the rivers, but if you want to actually post up, you need land owner permission.

This is inaccurate when it comes to the ky river. Most other rivers are this way but not the KY because it is a navigable waterway. (Locks etc.)
HGC Prostaff
KyFowl20
hunter

Postby GoBlue82 » Thu Nov 21, 2013 10:02 am

KyFowl20 wrote: