Any advice to a new hunter?

Talk about various Louisiana duck hunting tactics with others and explore issues related to duck hunting in the heart of Cajun duck hunting country.

Moderators: The Cat Island Drake, La. Hunter, Smackaduck

Postby nick_vargo » Sun Dec 18, 2011 11:32 pm

Hi there,

I'm brand new to Duck hunting and wanted to get some insight from people on how to start hunting on my own. I have gone twice now with a few friends and love it! I've tried looking at leases and such but no luck so far. Any help with equipment or just how to get started into it would be awesome! I live in Bossier City but I go to school in Monroe for most of the year.
nick_vargo
Newb

Re: Any advice to a new hunter?

Postby kb9zgb » Mon Dec 19, 2011 8:34 am

oh lots of things to add here. mostly read stuff learn from what other people do good and bad. The most important thing is who you hunt with. Are They Ok ? or just going for the ride ?. If you can find some one to teach you stuff maybe practice on the off season with. things like calling and recognizing Bird Behavior and identifying birds. scouting areas. stuff like this adds up. One thing I do often and it has worked well for me is to offer the land owner a few hours work in exchange for a few hours of hunting. Be thoughtful and clean up stuff pick up empty pop cans and shot gun shells. promote yourself in a positive way. If they say no. thats ok ask if they know anyone around that may let you Hunt. All it takes is one butt to screw up a possible hunting area most of the time that ****** has been there already. Work towards fixing that.
kb9zgb
hunter

Postby Sandman3400 » Mon Dec 19, 2011 10:47 am

Best way to learn is by going with someone who knows what they are doing and is willing to teach you. There is a lot to learn just to become successful, and even then, the learning is just starting.
Real men hunt with Chessies!
Sandman3400
hunter

Postby mallardman2256 » Mon Dec 19, 2011 4:58 pm