Maine opening day!!!

A place to discuss Maine hunting. Topics include Maine's reknowned sea duck hunting.

Moderators: DUKHTR, Dogman

Maine opening day!!!

Postby Dogman » Mon Oct 04, 2004 6:19 pm

Got out early this morning and got a limit before 7:45,real thick fog but it didn't slow down the birds.They came in big numbers.Nice beginning to the season :thumbsup: .
My lab is still the best hunting partner there is.
Dogman
Forum & State Moderator

Postby NewFowler » Sat Oct 09, 2004 6:51 pm

Dogman,
I live in Portland and I'm new to the duck game. In fact, I was just out yesterday morning with a friend and his dog in Winterport. We were puddle duck shooting and I shot my first mallard, which made for a great, "real" first time out.
I am working on getting all of the gear and a decent decoy setup, but my biggest problem is that I have NO DOG! :thumbsdown:
So if I want to hunt on my own, my canoe would have to suffice as my retriever. In your opinion, should I not even bother, or is this a feasable way to hunt? Are there Any good ways to meet other duck hunters in Southern Maine?
I've been scouting around the Scarborough Marsh area for some local hunting spots... would you recommend the area?
I realize I've loaded this post with questions... thanks in advance if you can offer any help!
NewFowler
Newb

Postby Dogman » Sat Oct 09, 2004 7:28 pm