Decoy Spread ?

A place to learn from others, share information and gain knowledge on duck hunting in Maryland, of the fabled Chesapeake bay.

Moderators: Mikeguard01, Cupped-n-Committed

Decoy Spread ?

Postby GHGHntr » Wed Nov 30, 2011 8:51 pm

I am looking to get some GHG floater duck dekes and am having a hard time trying to figure out what I want to get.

I am looking ot get around 18-24 decoys and am probably going to get all mallards, but was wondering if I should mix some other species in my spread.

I dont usually hunt ducks so I am fairly new to duck hunting in a sense, but hunt geese constantly.

I hunt on the Pax River in Calvert County and dont know too much about the species of ducks that are around there.

Should I mix my spread with different species, or stay with mallards? What species should I mix in if I do decide to do so?
Lock'em & Rock'em
GHGHntr
hunter

Re: Decoy Spread ?

Postby flightcancelled » Thu Dec 01, 2011 6:55 am

Obviously, you want to match the ducks you are seeing to those in your spread. Are you hunting further up the Pax or are you hunting big water farther downriver? Are you seeing puddlers, or divers? That will give you an indication of what type of dekes you want out in front of you.
flightcancelled
hunter

Postby Bay Bob » Thu Dec 01, 2011 7:59 am

I would not use mallards in an open water set up, they just do not have the visibility.

My favorite decoy is the old. swivel head, big eye, mallard size, Flambeau bufflehead. I have three dozen and wish I had ten !

I have had my best luck over the years (25 hunting the Patuxent) using bufflehead or bluebill decoys - - - the white shows up a long way off, and mallards come to them readily - - -

I would haunt e-bay for old Flambeaus with the big replaceable eye, the paint on these is stellar and I have some that are 30 years old - - -

My second choice would be the GHG Oversized Buffleheads - - - nothing shows as much white - - -

Bay Bob
hunter