Howard County

A place to learn from others, share information and gain knowledge on duck hunting in Maryland, of the fabled Chesapeake bay.

Moderator: Cupped-n-Committed

Howard County

Postby Ilovesidebysides » Wed Dec 28, 2011 10:31 am

Was looking for geese this morning, and it was awful. I saw some birds...not very many. None of them were making a sound, and all were going exactly where they wanted to go and nothing was going to budge them. We need some cold weather really bad. I'm getting sick of this.
Ilovesidebysides
hunter

Re: Howard County

Postby kfgirl » Wed Dec 28, 2011 12:13 pm

MD newbie here. Do you hunt public or private lands? Curious where you hunt in Howard. I"m just learning the ropes & am thinking of going out this weekend just to look around...
vincentpa wrote: Even if you're Bruce Lee, you ain't the same Bruce Lee wearing waders.
kfgirl
hunter

Postby Ilovesidebysides » Wed Dec 28, 2011 3:40 pm

I was hunting on a farm near rt 108.
I'm going again tomorrow to Frederick County...hopefully it will be better out there. Supposed to be cold at least!
Ilovesidebysides
hunter

Postby mighty mike » Wed Dec 28, 2011 4:26 pm

Did some traveling up through Frederick county today out through rte. 85 and saw better numbers than down where i am Howard/Carroll area. Good luck in the am!
mighty mike
hunter

Postby Ilovesidebysides » Wed Dec 28, 2011 6:02 pm

Thanks Mike!
I'll be posting a report when I get home! Hoping to see some black ducks too...there are more of them than Mallards out there.
Ilovesidebysides
hunter

Postby Ilovesidebysides » Thu Dec 29, 2011 2:19 pm

Saw a lot more geese out there than I expected. Maybe this little cold front has moved some birds from North of here. They were all HIGH in the sky and didn't feel like dropping down to look at me. Going again tomorrow in Howard County on a farm that has had birds coming every day, and has'nt been hunted all year. Needless to say, I'm looking forward to it.
Ilovesidebysides
hunter