Retriever training

A place to learn from others, share information and gain knowledge on duck hunting in Maryland, of the fabled Chesapeake bay.

Moderators: Mikeguard01, Cupped-n-Committed

Retriever training

Postby jpeels » Sun Feb 05, 2012 12:06 pm

I'm going to start training my lab to retrieve ducks from my boat so I can have her ready for next year. I've never done it before, and my main question is if I can take her out on the boat now in the river and use a cap gun or my .22 and use blanks, without having to buy a special permit. I've scoured DNR's website and I can't find the answer. Does anybody on here know? Any other tips would be appreciated, thanks.
jpeels
hunter

Re: Retriever training

Postby akdiesel » Sun Feb 05, 2012 7:48 pm

You need a special gun dog training permit. There are special training areas that you "must" use, you can't just go out and do your thing. Your best bet would be hooking up with a retriever club and they will tell you how to go about your training.

Honkers- 7
BWT- 0.5
Doves- 42
akdiesel
hunter

Postby akdiesel » Sun Feb 05, 2012 7:50 pm

That must was a little harsh, there are designated training fields around the state that you should be using.

Honkers- 7
BWT- 0.5
Doves- 42
akdiesel
hunter

Postby Biguglygreenboat » Sun Feb 05, 2012 7:56 pm

akdiesel wrote:That must was a little harsh, there are designated training fields around the state that you should be using.

Not true. You can train anywhere you would like as long as "leash laws" aren't an issue. The only time you needs a training permit is when you shoot live birds during the training session. Even then, only one person in the group need to purchase the $5 permit.

What part of the state are you in? There are several training groups around (both formal and informal) that meet throughout the year. Most of us run hunt tests or just want better hunting dogs but are always willing to lend a hand to those that need and want it.