newbie in western maryland

A place to learn from others, share information and gain knowledge on duck hunting in Maryland, of the fabled Chesapeake bay.

Moderators: Cupped-n-Committed, Mikeguard01

newbie in western maryland

Postby dsabol » Thu Sep 14, 2006 5:02 pm

Hey all,

I am new to Maryland and would really like to try waterfowl hunting (especially geese). Is there anyone that might be interested in giving me some advice or helping me get started? I live in Hagerstown and don't even know if there is any good hunting around here. Any help, guidance or suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks
dsabol
Newb

Postby Cupped-n-Committed » Fri Sep 15, 2006 6:56 am

I live down sharpsburg pike just below the Ag center. I might not be able to go hunting Saturday, I fell of a horse and bumped my head. Shoot me a Private message and I'll give yo my phone number.
"If you can't have fun doing it, it ain't worth doing." my motto

There is nothing better than hunting with friends and then crackin' a couple of cold ones afterwards.
Cupped-n-Committed
Forum & State Moderator

Postby WESTMDduckbuster » Fri Oct 27, 2006 1:29 am

.......words of wisdom.......Hagerstown area right???...scout, scout, scout, and when your tired of that......scout some more......knock on doors.... talk to farmers.....if you are set up where the birds want to be ..........it can look like the TV shows....... if you're not....all the decoys, calls or whatever...won't help.......just pattern them and you will do great.......
....and if catch the waterfowlin' flu.....there is NO cure.....you just have to hunt, more and more.....
........also try ducks......there is something about a wood duck flying at warp speed......
..............let us know how you do!!!!
.....relax ....take the shot....your dog will love you...... even when you miss....
WESTMDduckbuster
Newb

Postby Cupped-n-Committed » Fri Oct 27, 2006 6:23 am