The new guy

A place to learn from others, share information and gain knowledge on duck hunting in Maryland, of the fabled Chesapeake bay.

Moderators: Mikeguard01, Cupped-n-Committed

The new guy

Postby bohunt » Tue May 28, 2013 7:04 pm

Hey all,
I am new to the sight and will be new to the area. I will be moving to Maryland, specifically the Rockville area later this summer. I have grown up in the Midwest, hunting and fishing MN and ND. I have read the thread started by Cyclocoatie, and was thankful to see all the helpful information. I am pretty excited for the move. I am a big waterfowler as well as a bow hunter. My question for you guys out there is where are the big hunting stores out there? I am looking for a job. I currently work at Gander Mountain in MN in hunting and firearms sales and as an archery tech and would like to land a similar job out there. I'm aware or the ***** sporting goods in the area, out this way they seem to have a pretty lame selection, is that the case out there? Where do you guys buy you gear? Or anyone work at a hunting or fishing store or archery pro shop?

Thanks in advance for any info!
bohunt
hunter

Re: The new guy

Postby Grey Dog » Wed May 29, 2013 4:43 am

:welcome: Welcome and condolences. There is a ****'s in Gaithersburg but I personally don't use them because...well...they're ****'s. The other "common" store in the area is Sports Authority. SA is more slanted toward the soccer kids and the neon-colored jogging suit, let's do lunch, crowd. The only real option would be Bass Pro in Hanover.

http://www.basspro.com/webapp/wcs/store ... &storeID=2

That's about it for the chain stores. There are of course a few smaller place's like Angler's out on RT 50 in Annapolis. There was a place in downtown Rockville called the Trading Post but I believe it's been gone for a decade or two.