New to Maryland

A place to learn from others, share information and gain knowledge on duck hunting in Maryland, of the fabled Chesapeake bay.

Moderators: Mikeguard01, Cupped-n-Committed

New to Maryland

Postby MDhuntr » Mon Jul 29, 2013 9:17 am

Hello everyone and thanks for taking the time to read my post. I’m Danny, I am new to Maryland although I am not new to hunting and fishing. I have spent most of my time hunting in WV and TN where I have lived / have family. I wanted to write this post to ask a few questions and also give some information about opportunities I have found in MD so far. I have joined a few new MD forums and will be posting this among them. I am also a member with archerytalk and a few other local hunting forums.

1) I am a whitetail hunter by heart (bow, rifle, muzzleloader). I am blessed to have family land in WV and good friends in TN where it is relatively simple to hunt. I have found through some research that there are many State owned public lands in MD. Are they worth hunting? I am a hunter, not a killer. I enjoy the time in the woods and tree stand. Only thing I don’t enjoy is overcrowding of people. Are there any that are more crowded / less hunt-able than others?

2) I know MD is a huge waterfowl corridor, but when I start reading regulations, it seems a bit difficult to hunt. Can an average Joe who doesn’t own land or belong to a club hunt waterfowl? Utilize the public lands again?

3) What do you all recommend to fish in MD? I trout fish in TN and have a special love for Native Brook Trout. We have the N. Fork of the South Holston River in TN and it is nothing short of amazing for browns and rainbows. I have seen stocking schedules and such for MD, but again, not really the kind who likes to fight other anglers for a fish. I’ve become pretty interested in Rock Fish and some other Bay fish. Best thing to do to just rent a charter and try it out?