Newby

A place to learn from others, share information and gain knowledge on duck hunting in Maryland, of the fabled Chesapeake bay.

Moderators: Cupped-n-Committed, Mikeguard01

Newby

Postby slicendice » Tue Dec 18, 2007 7:02 am

I'm brand new to waterfowling and brand new to this site. I'm originally from the Boonsboro area, but moved to Waynesboro, PA a few years ago (the houses were cheaper north of the M/D line.) I still do 90% of my hunting in MD. I've hunted deer, turkey and small game all of my life but last week on a whim, my buddy (MD resident) and I went out to the Mono and tried our hand at ducks and geese. We're greener than green, but we're learning as we go. We plan to do most of our hunting on Mono and the Potomac and will probably give McKees-Beshers a go before the season is out. I was very happy to find this site and I've already learned alot by reading the threads. I just wanted to introduce myself and say hi to everyone. Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Jon
2013-2014 season totals
1 Bufflehead
1 Gadwall
1 Black duck
1 Hoody
3 Mergs
3 Cans
4 Geese
4 Wood ducks
1 Mallard
3 doe
1 buck
1 fall turkey
slicendice
hunter

Postby Cupped-n-Committed » Tue Dec 18, 2007 3:58 pm

I live in Boonsboro, or at least that is what my mailing address says.

All I got to say is best of luck on the geese. This year some one has been educating them pretty handily. I did not even hunt much in the early part of the year and I get out now and they are scared of decoys.

Also when floating the Mono you have to case the gun in that Federal park or they will ticket you.
"If you can't have fun doing it, it ain't worth doing." my motto

There is nothing better than hunting with friends and then crackin' a couple of cold ones afterwards.
Cupped-n-Committed
Forum & State Moderator

Postby slicendice » Tue Dec 18, 2007 6:33 pm