Monocacy river??

A place to learn from others, share information and gain knowledge on duck hunting in Maryland, of the fabled Chesapeake bay.

Moderators: Cupped-n-Committed, Mikeguard01

Monocacy river??

Postby Max-4GMC » Thu Aug 21, 2014 8:03 pm

Since I am still new to hunting in md I am Trying to find out if I can float the monocacy river to duck hunt??? Also wondering if I can put in a John boat on the Potomac at point of rocks and float and / set up on the islands that are in the middle ??? And get out where the monocacy river joins the Potomac????

Thanks for any info
Mike
Max-4GMC
hunter

Re: Monocacy river??

Postby Ruination » Thu Aug 21, 2014 8:47 pm

I'm not sure if it would be illegal, but it could piss more than a few people off if you float by their rigs.
Ruination
hunter

Postby Cupped-n-Committed » Fri Aug 22, 2014 6:18 am

Max-4GMC wrote:Since I am still new to hunting in md I am Trying to find out if I can float the monocacy river to duck hunt???

Yes, but there are special previsions where you better unload and case your gun when floating through the battle field. Anchor, or touch the shore line anywhere and you are trespassing. I think the WMA stuff on line or the hand book covers the areas.

Max-4GMC wrote:Also wondering if I can put in a John boat on the Potomac at point of rocks and float and / set up on the islands that are in the middle ???

Large islands are privately owned and you would be trespassing without permission. Some small Islands are considered no different than the river bottom, just like rocks. You have to do your homework in your area to figure it out. I do not know of a place to look it all up.

Max-4GMC wrote:And get out where the monocacy river joins the Potomac????

What do you mean, by get out? Leave, or to hunt? When done hunting you can leave anywhere. Get out inside the mouth of the Monocacy or on the C&O canal to hunt and you will be trespassing and Federal Wardens enforce the area.