Duck Hunting Forum banner

Intro's

1K views 10 replies 9 participants last post by  BlackRockLab 
#1 ·
Seen a few new members posting up, which is great. Acombs, Akbraun, hipster, Blackrock. How about a little intro for us? No big deal if you're not inclined. :welcome: :beer:

#3 ·
Sure! I made a post on the main page introducing myself but here goes again:

I'm Jared. Just started hunting ducks up here in Massachusetts this season. I have some outdoors experience (Scouting, leading backpacking trips in college, etc) and I'd been interested in trying hunting and sporting for a while. As luck would have it, a guy at my gym has been in the game for 10+ years and agreed to take me along with him. He has been an awesome mentor for this first season - a very ethical hunter and great with identification and calling, plus he has a ton of dekes and gear. Another guy from the gym, who hunts mostly deer, has been coming out with us too.

The three of us have been hunting inland and coastal and have had very good luck so far. We just ordered a dozen goose shells to go along with some full bodies so we can continue getting outside through February for late goose.

I shoot an 870 (bought new) and mostly Kent's Fasteel #2. I've had some issues with the gun jamming/not cycling. The other day we had a group of 4 Canada Goose work into our decoy spread, flying straight at us about 5 feet off the ground. Shot, missed, and the extractor failed to catch the lip of shell. They were gone before I could get the spent shell out. :no: Not sure if the gun will break in over time or if I should get in touch with Remington. I've probably put a few hundred rounds through the gun between hunting and shooting clays by now.

I'm looking to getting to know you guys and maybe meeting up to explore more of Massachusetts! Check us out below, I'm the one in the Old School camo! :hi:

#4 ·
Welcome to the site Jared.