Safety improvements

From the Berkshires to Cape Cod, Here is the place for the Bay State waterfowler to discuss and share their Massachusetts duck hunting experiences.

Moderators: captainkevan, JoeP, Tim D, MIKE J., HeritageHunter

Safety improvements

Postby kmachstang » Thu Jan 09, 2014 12:27 pm

Hey guys,

The recent events that have occurred have hit really close to home for me. I am very careful about staying home if things look like they might get ugly, but i'll admit I have been caught in some nasty conditions in the past. I'm re-evaluating things for next year and looking at some new equipment for worst case scenario.

One being I am not very good at wearing my PFD. Has anyone tried out floatation jackets? http://www.basspro.com/Onyx-Camo-Life-J ... /10219927/ Hows the mobility/floatation? Any other options that won't affect mounting the shotgun? Should I be worried about auto flotation type devices in extreme cold/mud/ice/etc? I typically hunt from a boat blind, so I'm on the water at all times.

Also any thoughts on increasing cold water survival? Dry suits under the camo? Extra dry clothes in the boat? Just looking for ideas.

Thanks,
Kyle
kmachstang
hunter

Re: Safety improvements

Postby Baymen Moe » Thu Jan 09, 2014 12:49 pm

This is a great post Kyle, and I can't wait for all the ideas. Personally, I always wear my pfd in the canoe, it's the law anyway. I have a vest with the mesh shoulders and have shot with it on plenty. My waders are on 99.9% of the time and I wear a belt cinched up to the point it's alsmost uncomfortable.

A new feature on my canoe is a stabilizer set up. UNBELIEVABLE! It does not interfere with much, and I tried, but cannot tip the canoe. Leakey and McManus can testify to it's use.

While I may not have answered your direct questions, this post will give us all a chance to share our safety practices while hunting. :thumbsup:
Baymen Moe
hunter

Postby Boats84 » Thu Jan 09, 2014 1:28 pm