HUNTING MASS WATERWAYS

From the Berkshires to Cape Cod, Here is the place for the Bay State waterfowler to discuss and share their Massachusetts duck hunting experiences.

Moderators: captainkevan, HeritageHunter, JoeP, Tim D, MIKE J.

HUNTING MASS WATERWAYS

Postby marshmarauder » Tue Aug 05, 2014 9:23 pm

Hi all,

As I've said before in previous posts, I am relatively new to waterfowl hunting and especially waterfowl hunting in MA (originally being from NJ). I plan on hunting the Connecticut River this year, however, I am having trouble finding information on any state website regarding hunting on the river. Is the whole river able to be hunted (keeping state distance laws in mind)? My major question is this…The city of Holyoke, for instance, does not allow the discharge of firearms within city limits. Does this mean I am unable to hunt portions of the Connecticut River "within" Holyoke? I would be hunting from a boat. I'm sure my example is encountered in different areas throughout the state including the Merrimack River out East. I can't find any state publications anyway and keep getting the "run around" with my online searches. If anyone out there has any useful information or can point in the direction of any written documentation that would be fantastic. I will most likely have to end up contacting the EPO's for an answer. It seems like every time I scout out a good spot I end up researching it and finding out it's not able to be hunted for some reason or another. The clock is ticking and I'm looking for answers AND DUCKS!
Thanks Guys and Girls!
marshmarauder
hunter

Re: HUNTING MASS WATERWAYS

Postby greener » Wed Aug 06, 2014 6:29 am

The city of Holyoke, for instance, does not allow the discharge of firearms within city limits. Does this mean I am unable to hunt portions of the Connecticut River "within" Holyoke?

No discharge means exactly that.