New to Duck hunting! Which calls?

Discuss Michigan hunting and share your duck hunting secrets here. From lay out boat hunting on the great lakes to the stubble fields.

Moderators: quackerkiller, waterfowlhunter

New to Duck hunting! Which calls?

Postby Ksch97 » Sun Jul 07, 2013 10:08 pm

Good evening,
I live in northern Michigan, I am new to duck hunting have not been out. I would like to get into duck hunting for the sport of hunting, I have wanted to get into duck hunting for a while. I like to hunt and want something else to learn to hunt, and this looks like a lot of fun. I am looking to purchase a new gun, I am looking at the Benelli Nova, After I purchase that I will be looking at duck calls, which calls do you recommend for this area, such as brand or style, I have looked at a couple of different calls, I have looked at zinc calls, and some calls that they offer at Cabela's, I have no idea of what to go with or to choose.

When hunting on lakes where should I sit to hunt I do have a twelve foot boat that I can use to get to areas, I am wondering if I should park of shore or sit in the middle of the lake. with decoys set out, I am just looking for information, I have some areas that I plan to hunt. Thank you for the help, I look forward to talking with you all in the future.

Koby
Northern Michigan.
Ksch97
hunter

Re: New to Duck hunting! Which calls?

Postby Bandedbrothers » Mon Jul 08, 2013 2:52 pm

Ksch97 wrote:Good evening,