Illegal duck Grebe

Discuss Michigan hunting and share your duck hunting secrets here. From lay out boat hunting on the great lakes to the stubble fields.

Moderators: waterfowlhunter, quackerkiller

Illegal duck Grebe

Postby BigBC22 » Fri Oct 10, 2008 6:36 pm

I hunted opening middle zone on the AuSable. I am just learning the birds and typically hunt with 2 experienced hunters. I shot and killed a duck I initially thought was a Teal and the hunters I was with also thought it was a Teal. This was the only bird we took today. When arriving back at the launch we saw the DNR there and when they asked to see our ducks, I showed them and the DNR actually said it was a Grebe which is not legal to take. She gave me a ticket and I have to contact the court, she also took my gun. Does anyone know what can happen out of this, what the charge and fines are, are they going to keep my gun. It was an honest mistake, but I know I should know the birds I take.
BigBC22
Newb

Postby DuckFlyer » Fri Oct 10, 2008 7:14 pm

Dont know your answer, But, I carry with me a field guide that uses not only the wing ID but also the BILL and even feet ID. I have to say, I didn't know you couldn't take Grebe's though I also wouldn't know one if it hit me, (I'll have to check it out) But I do know - NO CANVASBACKS. Thankfully we dont see many anyway in my area. The pocket size book is "LeMaster Method Waterfowl Identification"
A mans gotta belive in something, I believe I'll go hunting!
DuckFlyer
hunter

Postby DuckFlyer » Fri Oct 10, 2008 7:19 pm

Just found the Grebe's in my book. I don't know how these could be mistaken for a Teal, (merganser maybe) Look on the internet and find a picture and see if it looks like your bird, (though I doubt it, perhaps the dnr officer made a mistake - hopefully they keep the bird for you to look at again)
A mans gotta belive in something, I believe I'll go hunting!
DuckFlyer
hunter

Postby A-Bomb » Fri Oct 10, 2008 7:33 pm