Duck Hunting Forum banner

First waterfowl ticket

2K views 6 replies 5 participants last post by  dirtyturtle 
#1 ·
ive been hunting this spot on houghton lake for 7 years with no issues what so ever. its a cool spot that is privet and the land owners have given me the only permission. i have 20 years under my belt. and understand the rule to a tee. the issue is wheather i was in a saftey zone. i was 106 yards from a cabin (by dnr range finder) that is owned by the land owner. dnr states that the cabin is occupied by some other then the owner i need to get permission from the occupint and the land owner. the rules clearly state occupint or land owner. i may be stupid but in english or means either not both. the worst part is that ive known this guy for 30 years and am good freinds with his family. he checked every thing. we had shot 8 mallards this morning. 6 drakes and 2 hens. one of the drakes was eclipesed really bad. his comment was man your lucky on that one. i told him after 20 years luck no longer plays a part either you know what your shooting or we let them go. any way he wrote us up. after 45 min of checking we get a saftey zone vialation. in roscommon county its 250 buck. thats more the the baiting vialation. the owner of this property is not happy. and all leases are up nov 1st. that means ill be there on the 2nd blasting. and those people may not have a cabin there next year.

what do you think about the rule? do i need both peoples permission. the words need to be rewritten.

#2 ·
Yeah, ive never liked how the DNR words their rules. It soooo confusing sometimes. And sometimes rules on their website contradict what the book says. In your case i think the "or" means from at least on person, not "both." If you had to get both people's permission it should say "and," not "or."

#3 ·
DNR rules are "up to the officers Interpretation"