Sherburne nat'l wildlife refuge

In the land of 10,000 lakes, Minnesota duck hunting is some of the best. Log in and discuss your Minnesota duck hunting experiences.

Moderators: commander019, beretta24

Sherburne nat'l wildlife refuge

Postby brianm257 » Thu Sep 19, 2013 7:21 am

Anyone have any info on duck hunting this area? I assume it's got plenty of hunters on the weekends, but what about during the week? I'm new to the metro area (moved here from up north) I'll still hunt up north when I can but looking at some place to go thats close by.
brianm257
hunter

Re: Sherburne nat'l wildlife refuge

Postby iFAIL » Thu Sep 19, 2013 7:40 am

you should try calling the sheriff's department and asking them if it's ok or try the DNR. That's the only ways I heard it works. I myself found a sweet spot that i have to call about the sheriff about also. Better safe then sorry.
That horrible duck call, it was I!
iFAIL
hunter

Postby MinnesotaDan » Thu Sep 19, 2013 7:56 am

Some of Sherburne NWR is open but a lot of it is closed. The best spots are always closed to hunting it seems but there can be a good amount if birds in the area sometimes.
Nobody cares about your season totals.
MinnesotaDan
hunter

Postby Feathers » Thu Sep 19, 2013 9:01 am

iFAIL wrote:you should try calling the sheriff's department and asking them if it's ok or try the DNR. That's the only ways I heard it works. I myself found a sweet spot that i have to call about the sheriff about also. Better safe then sorry.

Better hope your Sheriff isn't a duck hunter or have any friends that are.

Almost all refuges in MN have interactive maps on the DNR site that show you the borders that are open or closed to hunting. Do some research.
Feathers
hunter

Postby brianm257 » Thu Sep 19, 2013 10:01 am