Luck on WMAs?

In the land of 10,000 lakes, Minnesota duck hunting is some of the best. Log in and discuss your Minnesota duck hunting experiences.

Moderators: beretta24, commander019

Luck on WMAs?

Postby mutthunt » Fri Oct 11, 2013 2:57 am

How's everyone been doing on state land? Notably WMAs since WPAs are off limits right now. :fingerhead:

No specific locations or anything. Just wondering in general. This is my first year hunting public land in MN, and I've had poor luck on bird numbers. I'd say it's me, but I just haven't been seeing much in the 1.5 hour radius of MPLS.

I'm thinking some colder weather will change things up quick. Hopefully.

Joe
“If there are no dogs in Heaven, then when I die I want to go where they went.” - Will Rogers
mutthunt
hunter

Re: Luck on WMAs?

Postby goldfish » Fri Oct 11, 2013 8:29 am

I've seen plenty of birds. All I hunt is public. Now, hitting the things... Well, that's another story

sent from a phancy fone
If you are having a bad day, just remember...

Someone has Snooki as a mom
goldfish
hunter

Postby pj » Fri Oct 11, 2013 9:05 am

mutthunt wrote: This is my first year hunting public land in MN, and I've had poor luck on bird numbers. I'd say it's me, but I just haven't been seeing much in the 1.5 hour radius of MPLS.

You need to get out further than that.
For every tear a smile.
pj
hunter

Postby Ducks22 » Fri Oct 11, 2013 9:41 am

We have seen quite a few birds on WMAs and public water the first few weeks of the season and nobody hunting them. The WMAs we have seen empty this year are within 2 hrs of the cities, mainly South and West. I am sure that will all change this weekend with the chicken hunters kickin things off. Good luck
Ducks22
hunter

Postby MNjonboatguy » Fri Oct 11, 2013 10:18 am

mutthunt wrote:How's everyone been doing on state land? Notably WMAs since WPAs are off limits right now. :fingerhead: