New to Waterfowl

In the land of 10,000 lakes, Minnesota duck hunting is some of the best. Log in and discuss your Minnesota duck hunting experiences.

Moderators: beretta24, commander019

New to Waterfowl

Postby zee-unit » Fri Feb 07, 2014 11:13 am

Hey guys,

I stumbled across this forum a little while ago, and it looks like there is a ton of great information here. I decided to join, and I am looking forward to learning from you guys.

I am 23 years old, and I live in the middle of the cities. I grew up doing a little hunting with my Dad, who basically picked up the hobby just so that his sons (me) would have some knowledge of hunting growing up. He wasn't very serious, and it basically was a way for us to bond walking through a field together looking for pheasants or sitting gutting a few deer together.

Fast forward to now...I graduated from college, and decided that I want to make a point to being to be an outdoorsman and learn to hunt well, provide meat for my family that isn't from the store, and just enjoy and learn everything I can about the outdoors. I work as a Marketing Director, and live in the heart of the city....so hunting has become a HUGE escape for me, and I love it.

Anyway, this fall, I had a buddy take me out duck hunting for the first time. I had never been because I never had the gear that I thought I needed, and I didn't want to invest in it not knowing if I like duck hunting or not. Needless to say, in the first 20 minutes after it was legal to shoot, I was hooked. It quickly became my "primary" hunting preference, followed by pheasant hunting, and then deer.

The whole point of my post here is to ask for advice on different gear, styles of duck hunts (open water vs sloughs), and just overall knowledge about duck hunting.