first duck

In the land of 10,000 lakes, Minnesota duck hunting is some of the best. Log in and discuss your Minnesota duck hunting experiences.

Moderators: commander019, beretta24

first duck

Postby StuStiltman » Sat Mar 08, 2014 7:34 pm

My first duck was a hen mallard, 2nd shot took me out on opener when I was(I think) 8. I had been coming along for a couple years but was armed only with a bb gun. My first happened on the Sunday of opening weekend, 2nd shot and I hunted alone leaving the rest of the crew to hunt on those own. On Saturday I missed several easy shots, on Sunday a single landed in decoys. I aimed with my single shot 20 and fired. After I shot 2nd shot stood up in the boat and shot 3 times, loaded up and shot 2 more times. then he turned and looked at me, " good shot" he says, you got it. I still don't know if I got a piece of that duck or not, still a.special memory. 2nd shot has a good story about his first duck, fair warning, most won't believe it, and although I believe him, I won't hold it against those who don't.
StuStiltman
hunter

Re: first duck

Postby hillbilly.. » Sat Mar 08, 2014 9:18 pm