"That's my dog!"

In the land of 10,000 lakes, Minnesota duck hunting is some of the best. Log in and discuss your Minnesota duck hunting experiences.

Moderators: beretta24, commander019

"That's my dog!"

Postby h2ofwlr » Mon Jun 27, 2005 1:07 pm

I bet a few of you have seen Jim Killen's artwork, especially the "that's my dog" series.

Capturing man's best friend
Dennis Anderson, Star Tribune
June 26, 2005 ANDY0626

Q: How did you get started as a wildlife artist?

A: I graduated in 1957 from what is now Minnesota State University at Mankato, where I studied art. I was recruited by Josten 's, where, coincidentally, (fellow famed Minnesota wildlife artist) Dave Maass worked. I was soon drafted into the service and came back to Josten's in 1960. Dave then was art director, overseeing a staff of about 15 artists. There was a lot of interest in landscape and wildlife painting at the time, and when Dave left and had success, I thought, "Wow."

Q: Did you also begin painting wildlife then?

A: I was art director at Josten's in 1965. Working there was great practice for an artist. Being in the ring business, as Josten's was and still is, the artists were required to draw intricate designs of animals, such as those associated with high school team nicknames -- the "Hornets," the "Jaguars" and so forth. When I first ventured away from that, doing my own work, I didn't do wildlife. I painted more abandoned farmsteads, what was called "Vanishing America."

Q: Today, you're famous for painting dogs, particularly sporting dogs. How did that start?

A: My first dog painting was of a black Labrador, a commission for a fellow in Kansas. I was hunting with him and I took a photograph of his dog after it had retrieved a duck. That's how it all began. By the late 1970s, I was painting dogs pretty consistently. Today, about 95 percent of what I paint is dogs.

Q: Do you paint sporting breeds only?