timber?

Duck hunting in Mississippi is like no other. Learn why Mississippi Delta duck hunting is what we like to do best.

Moderator: Cephous

timber?

Postby TayGrothe1988 » Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:30 pm

again im posting another post. as i mentioned before im a student at mississippi state and from columbia, MO and am very anxious for duck hunting for the first time in flooded timber. im always hunted in lakes and ponds as well as field and flooded corn but never flooded timber. This may be a stupid question to all of you but i just would like to know what timber hunting is all about and what its like? at the same time i have a SBE II and im thinking about getting a patternmaster choke tube (modified maybe) due to the awesome reviews ive read about them and was wondering what choke you recommend for a successful timber hunt.
just shoot em' in the lips, but ALWAYS safety first!
TayGrothe1988
hunter

Postby Cephous » Thu Sep 13, 2007 8:20 am

The thing about hunting flooded timber is if you find a place they want to be and there are lots of trees with a few openings, you can funnel them in. Where I was hunting, I always had better luck when there was full sun. They seemed to flare when there were clouds and they could pick me out easier. In the timber with full sun, it seemed to throw up a glare and didn't spook them as bad.
There's a reason it's called huntin' and fishin' instead of killin' and catchin'
Cephous
State Moderator

Postby smilin'mallard » Sun Oct 21, 2007 3:30 pm

I hunt Dave Donaldson WMA in arkansas, it has the most floodable timber in the state. Let me tell you huntin in flooded timber is a one of a kind thing, to watch ducks drop into a small opeing in the trees is something that every duck hunter needs to see. They will either be hot in the woods or not tho. Most of the time we have a decent hunt, even if we didnt kill many ducks in the timber I would go back just for the chance to see them drop in the hole.
smilin'mallard
hunter