Which ducks to shoot?

Main forum for general non waterfowl discussions as well as general duck hunting information about travel, rules and regulations, and other duck hunting info along with the general topics.

Moderators: Tealer, Indaswamp, Dep6, steve-o, La. Hunter, Preacher1011, lostpup, #1wingnut

Which ducks to shoot?

Postby JVex » Fri Dec 10, 2004 3:21 pm

I am new to duck hunting and have a few questions. I live in San Diego and hunt the salton sea near Mexico. There are tons of shovelers (divers, spoonies) and a few teal and scaup. I don't feel right shooting hens (in the ducks I can tell the difference) even though it is legal? I also don't like shooting spoonies because they taste like @#$%. This does not leave me much to shot at. :pissed: Either I have to change my ethics or go back to upland hunting. I really like to watch the ducks fall and my dog retrieve. Am I lost or just to darn much of a conservationist?
JVex
hunter

Postby InTheDecoys » Fri Dec 10, 2004 5:04 pm

Whats wrong with spoonies? If you have the right recipe you can make any duck taste good. Also if you are following the limits set by your gov. you shouldn't feel bad about shooting hens.
InTheDecoys.... Take em
InTheDecoys
hunter

Postby NS39340 » Fri Dec 10, 2004 5:48 pm

try this with your ducks, i know thers a recipe forum but i thought u might want it....i got it from backwoodsbound.com it will make any duck taste good

~ 3 - 4 duck breasts, cleaned and rinsed
~ garlic salt
~ 1/4 cup butter or margarine
~ 1 medium onion, chopped
~ 1 - 17oz can purple plums
~ 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
~ 1/2 cup chili sauce
~ 1/4 cup soy sauce
~ 1/4 cup lemon juice
~ 1 teaspoon ground ginger
~ 2 teaspoons prepared mustard
~ 1 teaspoon worchestershire

Prick the duck breasts with a fork and sprinkle with garlic salt. Place in a roaster pan with a lid. Roast in 350 degree oven for 2 hours or until tender.