Timber Holes

Main forum for general non waterfowl discussions as well as general duck hunting information about travel, rules and regulations, and other duck hunting info along with the general topics.

Moderators: Tealer, Indaswamp, Dep6, steve-o, Preacher1011, lostpup, La. Hunter, #1wingnut

Timber Holes

Postby luie b » Fri Oct 25, 2013 9:28 am

What would you say is the minimum size hole in the trees for a mallard to come through. I ask this because I have no experience with hunting ducks around trees but we have a pond now this year that is flooded back into the timber. If I cut this one tree I want to cut I could open the hole up to 7x7 foot. I don't want to open it much because there's lots of good trees back there that I want to keep because the wood ducks just love it back there because of the seclusion. So should I even bother getting the boat and chainsaw out and opening that hole or should I just hunt the other end of the pond that has no trees? I'll get you guys some pics of it this weekend after I hunt for Illinois opening weekend. It's a really cool farm pond and it's off the flyway a little bit but woodies just love it and we've had some mallards around so far, too. Like I said I have no idea how ducks act around trees so I figure some of you Arkansas and Louisiana guys could give some insight. If I hunt it in the timber I can hide really easily but the other part of it is mowed really short so there's nowhere to hide really.
**2014-2015 Illinois Waterfowl Season**
Blue-winged teal - 16
Green-winged teal - 4
Wood Ducks - 1
luie b
hunter

Re: Timber Holes

Postby Underradar » Fri Oct 25, 2013 11:04 am

Cut the tree with the X on it.
My lab died, and no one on Duckhuntingchat even cared.

Google I'm feeling lucky: DU biologist stole my car

You may win a fight, but you can never win an argument.
Underradar
hunter

Postby luie b » Fri Oct 25, 2013 11:07 am

Oh dam now I gotta cut em all!
**2014-2015 Illinois Waterfowl Season**
Blue-winged teal - 16