Public Schools in the USA

A forum not related to waterfowl for discussing the more controversial and hot topic issues in our world from immigration, politics, the war, etc..

Moderators: Smackaduck, MM

Public Schools in the USA

Postby Hilltopflyway » Tue Oct 29, 2013 3:27 pm

I have been teaching for 15 years and today, on a email to our corporation, we were told that we need to cut over 5 million dollars in the next two years from our budget. Seriously, where are we going to cut this kind of money? All of our services have been cut already, and I have not had a change in my pay for over 5 years. Believe me when I say this, I feel very blessed to have a job and to work in a very good school corp, however this is nation wide. My father is a retired school teacher and my older brother (of 10 years) and I are both teacher, so I knew what I was getting into. I am 42 years old, and I can't imagine doing anything other then teaching. This is crazy to me!!!!!!
Casey McDowell
Hilltopflyway
hunter

Re: Public Schools in the USA

Postby go get the bird » Tue Oct 29, 2013 3:39 pm

Paging Assa.
MackieKnife wrote:The moral of the story is...I'm retarded.
go get the bird
hunter

Postby dakotashooter2 » Tue Oct 29, 2013 4:15 pm

I bet 35% or more of the staff at your school are specialized and make nearly twice as much money as the average teacher and work one on one with 3-4 kids a day of which maybe 1 % will reap any benefit from it. I believe in giving every kid a chance but not at the expense of all the other students which is the direction our schools are going. In most cases if the parents took time to work with them at home they probably wouldn't need as much one on one help. I remember years ago when there were one or two special ed teachers on staff.......now they nearly outnumber the regular teaching staff.........
dakotashooter2
hunter

Postby ScaupHunter » Tue Oct 29, 2013 4:34 pm