Hunting the Tides

Main forum for general non waterfowl discussions as well as general duck hunting information about travel, rules and regulations, and other duck hunting info along with the general topics.

Moderators: Tealer, Indaswamp, Dep6, lostpup, #1wingnut, steve-o, Preacher1011, La. Hunter

Hunting the Tides

Postby Soup » Sun Nov 17, 2013 11:16 am

I am new to hunting ducks and geese in the Northwest. Specifically the Tacoma, WA area. While reading the migration reports on DU, I've seen several people mention having a "GOOD TIDE" or a "BAD TIDE". I assume the tide has an effect on when you can duck hunt as compared to morning or evening hunts. Not that it affects the ducks movement. Is this correct? Also, what tide is a "GOOD TIDE"?
Soup
Newb

Re: Hunting the Tides

Postby Indaswamp » Sun Nov 17, 2013 11:45 am

your post has been copied and posted on the Washington forum where you will more than likely get a better answer to your question.

Short answer is that it depends on what the food source is that the ducks are feeding on and whether you are hunting divers or puddlers.
The Cajun 7 Course Meal; 1 lb. of boudin and a six pack of Abita beer.

Save the Marsh, Eat a Nutria!

Indaswamp
Forum Moderator

Postby Boatman » Sun Nov 17, 2013 11:51 am

Most of the time birds will pile in on a falling tide, as vegetation will start to be exposed.
There are still things worth dying for and 1 of those things is freedom.

I love Geese

Genesis 27:3 Now then, get your weapons, quiver and bow, go out in the fields and hunt some wild game for me.
Boatman
hunter

Postby Indaswamp » Sun Nov 17, 2013 11:57 am

Boatman wrote:Most of the time birds will pile in on a falling tide, as vegetation will start to be exposed.