1st Duck/Goose of the Season

Main forum for general non waterfowl discussions as well as general duck hunting information about travel, rules and regulations, and other duck hunting info along with the general topics.

Moderators: Tealer, Indaswamp, Dep6, La. Hunter, steve-o, Preacher1011, lostpup

Postby John » Mon Oct 04, 2004 6:16 pm

I would say blackheads [bluebills], buffleheads, maybe some mallards. Maryland has an early season that opens saturday. It's still pretty early and there are not that many ducks in the area, but you can't turn down a duck hunt.
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 4:20 pm

Postby FEARLESS_KILLER » Thu Oct 14, 2004 7:21 pm

First bird was a huge Canada on sept. 1st and my last Bird I hope to be a Canada goose as well some time in dec.

Estevan saskatchewan Canada
The day I Wait for is the day I hunt
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 7:05 pm

Postby DuckPlayer » Thu Oct 14, 2004 8:24 pm

First shot this season dropped 2 greenwings and one bluewing teal. Now if I can do that the rest of the season I could save a ton on my annual ammo expense.
Some days you do everything right and don,t bag a thing , Some days you do everything wrong and still get LUCKY !!!
User avatar
Pro Hunter
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 8:50 pm
Location: South Central Nebraska

Postby mallardhunter » Thu Oct 14, 2004 8:27 pm

The first duck of the season was either a redhead or a greenwing teal. I can't remember. :oops:
Keep working millions on welfare depend on you!!!
If hunting is a sport I am the M.V.P.
User avatar
Posts: 1857
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 12:13 pm
Location: Mitchell/Aberdeen, SD

Postby quackerkiller » Fri Oct 15, 2004 8:14 am

a big honker and a woodie
Lynch Mob Calls Pro-Staff
Out For Blood
Forum & State Moderator
Posts: 627
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 9:45 pm
Location: SE Michigan, Grosse Ile

Postby Quackkills9 » Fri Oct 15, 2004 8:35 am

first bird dropped was a canadian goose during the early season and first duck was a ringneck. Good Huntin' :thumbsup:
"Get Down and Cover Up!" -Tim Grounds
"In Yo' Face!"
"My Retriever is Smarter than Your Honor Student!"
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2004 8:20 pm
Location: Bemidji, MN

Postby duckbuster808 » Fri Oct 15, 2004 11:49 am

first goose was a big ol' giant and first duck was a fat drake mallard
Posts: 212
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2004 9:55 am
Location: Michigan

Postby daws134 » Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:00 pm

My buddy and I had 3 woodies come in opening morning, 1 got away. Unfortunately those were our first and only ducks that day.
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 11:00 am
Location: Greenwood, IN

Postby crankerup » Thu Oct 21, 2004 3:37 pm

Im positive my first will be canada goose &my duck will be a wood duck. :mrgreen:
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 4:28 am
Location: N.C.

Postby InTheDecoys » Fri Oct 22, 2004 7:55 pm

Well my 1st duck of the season was a Hen Gadwall. Great Time. :mrgreen:
InTheDecoys.... Take em
User avatar
Posts: 151
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 7:18 pm

1st duck

Postby ks_waterfowler » Sun Oct 31, 2004 3:52 pm

Beautiful Drake Widgeon
whistlin_wings wrote:I grew up in a neighborhood with only 3 pools and a public golf course. Thug life is all I know.
User avatar
Posts: 2186
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 3:30 pm
Location: T-Pain's Boat

Postby Cobra » Sun Oct 31, 2004 7:42 pm

Big local Canadian.
User avatar
Posts: 935
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2004 8:42 pm
Location: Calhoun, Kalamazoo Ctys, MI

Postby yellowlab » Wed Nov 10, 2004 10:33 pm

well i posted on the newer one to but hey i will let you know too.... it was a drake gadwall
User avatar
Forum & State Moderator
Posts: 961
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 8:57 pm
Location: kansas

Postby duckplucker » Thu Nov 11, 2004 8:05 pm

NOthing yet, but I've only been out once (today) for a couple hours... jumped a couple ponds one had some widgeons on it that flushed totally wild and another had some geese way on the far side... i was wishing i had brought some BB's or BBB's along for them. oh well, I'll get one next time, surely. :smile:
"Take 'em"
Posts: 873
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:25 pm
Location: Texas

Postby duckbuster » Fri Nov 12, 2004 5:37 pm

my first goose was a 7 lb canadian goose that i got when me and mallardhunter went out for the early season
User avatar
Posts: 327
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 4:51 pm
Location: Aberdeen, SD


Return to The Honey Hole

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: twilsonvatech and 21 guests