Southern Zone

Duck hunting in Missouri topics of discussion are found here. Also MO is becoming one of the top Snow goose hunting destinations.

Moderators: KCDuckMaster, SPatrick, birddog crazy, 870shooter

Southern Zone

Postby bdub20 » Sat Dec 29, 2012 9:12 pm

I have been hunting some spots in the southern zone and been seeing birds, especially that some of the ponds are freezing over. This is my first year duck hunting so i'm sorry for the newb question. But I'm wondering if there will be birds around through the rest of the hunting season up till January 20. Will the birds be all gone by then or do birds typically stay around or will they still be migrating through.
bdub20
hunter

Re: Southern Zone

Postby therewillbeblood » Sat Dec 29, 2012 10:48 pm

im from mn but i think i can answer your question. as long as there is open water and food there will be ducks. there are still a few ducks in mn and its been below zero!

im actually coming down to hunt the south zone this coming week. im going to be staying in the springfield area. will be my first time hunting MO but i have been hunting ducks up here my whole life.
duck hunting > everything
therewillbeblood
hunter

Postby Blackfoot down » Sun Dec 30, 2012 10:08 pm

bdub20,
Yes we keep ducks to the end of the season and ever after it closes you will still see ducks. The biggest problem we have is the drought has the ponds so low and they are all frozen. I suggest that you hunt a creek, river or a lake. Where are you at and I can try to offer a suggestion or two? I am in Marshfield just outside of Springfield.

therewillbeblood,