Youth hunt

Duck hunting in Missouri topics of discussion are found here. Also MO is becoming one of the top Snow goose hunting destinations.

Moderators: birddog crazy, SPatrick, 870shooter

Youth hunt

Postby sehunter1 » Mon Sep 30, 2013 11:50 pm

I have a 9 year old cousin that I will be participating with in the youth hunt this year. It's my first time taking a youth and will be his first duck hunt. He has show very impressive natural shooting ability despite not having a dad that hunts to kind of show him the ropes, so I figured this year I would move him up from squirrels and rabbits to ducks, may even corrupt him with a deer hunt if I can borrow a 243 of a buddy. My question is, for guys that have taken kids, any ideas how to keep him occupied during a lull in the action? I'm all about getting him a duck or two but I don't wanna appear so serious he has no fun and I ruin it for him. I'm not a parent so it's gonna be a new experience for us both. With small game there's always somewhere to walk or a dog to catch up. I just want him to think being in the blind is fun. Any help, ideas, or tips from dads, uncles, and grandpas is appreciated!
sehunter1
hunter

Re: Youth hunt

Postby EvanKCMO » Tue Oct 01, 2013 6:47 am

iphone, thermos of hot chocolate, hunting magazines and deer sausage
EvanKCMO
hunter

Postby sjndknichols » Tue Oct 01, 2013 12:28 pm

go for short periods of time and go where there is a lot of ducks
sjndknichols
hunter

Postby 870shooter » Tue Oct 01, 2013 4:18 pm

Get him a whistle too. Easy to use. Show him how and he will like feeling like he is helping. Don't forget snacks!
Budweiser ProStaff
Team Biscuits and Gravy (no better team exists!)
Victorias Secrets Catalog Model Recruiter
870shooter
State Moderator

Postby iamduckhead » Wed Oct 02, 2013 4:13 pm

find a good woodduck hole, they give you plenty of action and you'll be done within 2 hours (10 min. if he's hitting them)
iamduckhead
hunter

Postby webman911 » Thu Oct 03, 2013 10:23 pm