The Ideal Duck Boat

From Pintails to Mallards, share your Montana duck hunting stories here in the land of the Big Sky country.

Moderator: Lawdog

The Ideal Duck Boat

Postby darcher » Sun Nov 27, 2011 12:02 pm

If you are not a duck boat nut, you will easily conclude that I am!

Here are the features of my new duck boat design.

I am ready to loft my duck boat plans to full scale. In order to sit sideways in the boat low to the floor, I had to extend the length to fifteen feet. The beam is 5’-10”. The cockpit combing will have two features that I have never built in a duck boat before. First, the bow of the cockpit will go to a vee to part waves in rough weather. Secondly, the backrest of the cockpit combing will flare out in a semi-circle for two hunters. The reason for this is that I want a fairly enclosed cockpit, but I need to get my back as close to where the deck meets the gunnel line in order to stretch out my 6’-3” frame.

I ended up with a 10% dead rise for the shallow vee hull. I was going to go 6%, but Zack Taylor’s Sneakbox widgeon and other sneak boats seem to use a 10 to 12% dead rise angle for a planning hull. (Zack Taylor was a Field and Stream editor and author of many duck hunting articles. His book, Successful Waterfowling, 1974, is an excellent book on the subject and includes numerous plans. I did built his scull boat in the 70’s, but it was not a good design. He is best known for his Zack Box.)

1. The front of the cockpit will have a vee to split waves during rough conditions. It will also have round holes or slots recessed in the cockpit combing. During rough water rides, I can drop in a raised, canvass windshield. The windshield will have Velcro attachments to the outside of the cockpit combing. (Similar to Barngat Bay sneak boats.)