Where are the Ducks?

From Pintails to Mallards, share your Montana duck hunting stories here in the land of the Big Sky country.

Moderator: Lawdog

Where are the Ducks?

Postby brad2242 » Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:11 pm

I am new to the fairview/sidney mt area. I was excited about a great job but more excited about the hunting. Here it is the 15th of Oct. and I haven't seen a duck in Mt. I have checked the Medicine lake refuge two weeks in a row and there is not much. Is it still early out here or am I in a no duck zone. Looking forward to hunting Fort Peck area but have not been up there to look around. I was told by a local up there this summer that the duck and goose hunting gets good in Dec. around there. Am I stressing over nothing and the birds haven't :bow: :bow: started to migrate yet? The only birds that I saw were a couple of miles across the boarder in N.D. I hope to get some field hunts in but it is really starting to look bleak. If anyone can talk me of the ledge I would really appreciate it.
brad2242
hunter

Re: Where are the Ducks?

Postby lundin-loading » Tue Oct 16, 2012 10:16 am

Its 17 days into a 3 month season...chill!
lundin-loading
hunter

Postby montana bound » Tue Oct 16, 2012 10:52 am

Needs to get cold, this short sleeve weather is not good for the duck hunting.
You get out of a dog , what you put into a dog!
montana bound
hunter

Postby Bulldog0156 » Tue Oct 16, 2012 6:37 pm

Go deer hunting for now
Bulldog0156
hunter

Postby brad2242 » Tue Oct 16, 2012 9:11 pm

Thank you, thank you. I grew up on the Mississippi River s/w Wisconsin s/e Minnesota and We would be well into the migration right now. Living so much further north now and it hasn"t seemed to start yet left me confused and concerned. People in this part of the country seem like they don't stress like us from the midwest which is a great thing. I hope some of that rubs off on me. I have a trailer full of decoys and just anxious to use them. Again thank you for your time.
brad2242